* Hopped up holidays *

‘Tis the season.  I can just smell it.  I have an insane urge to decorate and bake and knit (and I don’t even know how to knit).  And buy stuff.  Especially anything with sparkles.  This time of year I go a little crazy. (Yes, Josh, I am admitting to ‘the crazies’ in writing.)  I guess I tend to go overboard. 

Last year I baked my face off. I made so many batches of cookies, pies, brownies, fudge, and of course a Thanksgiving spread Jose Garces would be proud of.  I hosted a holiday party and invited -oh- about 150 of my closest friends and all of their children.

Cookies were my real achilles heel.  We were up to our chubby armpits in cookies.  I took tins of holiday cookie cheer to my in-laws, our neighbors, my friends, my office, my husband’s office, and every doctor appointment I went to.  I became a favorite with the nurses. 

Ah yes,  I may have neglected to mention that I was in the late throes of pregnancy.  I think my nesting instinct went a little haywire.  And its not that I felt compelled to eat the cookies–I didn’t.  I was just DRIVEN to bake them.  It was a little manic.  Night after night, I would stay up until the wee hours of the morning . . . baking and scheming and …. you get the picture. 

I get the cookie shakes

And don’t even get me started on twinkle lights.  I think I sent Josh out to the store maybe 5 times to buy more lights.  Can’t. Get. Enough. Twinkles.  Josh was NOT thrilled by our electric bill.  Yes, I added enough lights to make a difference.

Take a deep breath, Jocelyn.  I’ve made a promise to myself that this year the theme is going to be moderation.   (in moderation of course.)

It is very comforting, at least, to know that I am not alone in my holiday haywire.  I saw this blog post “I’m like Gollum. But much taller”  and laughed out loud.  It really resonated with me.  And then I got to thinking….maybe I ALSO need some sparkly disco balls…..

4 comments
  1. I am a full supporter of glitter and sparkles and twinkles … except I like all of that stuff on animals. I will be putting out my outdoor lifesize lightup Christmas penguins (handed down from Aunt Claudia), I will be sure to add baby Jesus to my already existing manger of 175 animal figurines, and you can trust your bet that I will have Maurice, my glittery stag with his gorgeous pearl necklace, front and center on my livingroom coffee table. I will get you sparkles for Christmas if you get me animals!

    Your cookies look fabulous – maybe if I send you my address you can send me a tin!

    ps – YES to the disco ball!

    • Oh, please, you MUST take pictures of the penguins and manger. Animals it is, my dear.

  2. I personally? Would like to discourage you from the theme of moderation. If only because I failed so badly at it.

    p.s.- Reading your “about” page, I am left wondering—HOW ON EARTH do you also have time to blog??

    • Hah! Sleep is for the weak. And I have a very indulgent husband. =)

Leave a Reply

