Philly Marathon

Just three more days until the Philly marathon

I can’t believe I haven’t broken any bones or gotten the stomach flu (which Caroline had this past weekend, poor baby) — or randomly gotten pregnant or something  (And although I am probably out of the woods re: all of the above, I am just a little worried about jinxing things).  I’m really going to be running it!  I’m so excited. 

It has been quite the long haul–getting back on the road right after birthing Gabrielle.   Finding time to run with two little ones at home.  Convincing my husband to watch the girls by himself Sunday mornings so I could go off running for three plus hours.  Pumping before my runs so my boobs didn’t explode–or nursing in the middle of a run.  Figuring out how far I could run with the girls in tow.  (Yes, people do look at you funny and judge you for being a bad mom when your kids are screaming bloody murder in the jogger.)  Figuring out that I needed to put air in the tires of the jogging stroller . . . no wonder it was so hard at first! 

Scheduling ‘meet ups’ on my really long runs, so I had some company to keep me going.  (Thank you Pam and Laura)

Oh, and running distance while weighing about 40 extra pounds.

Well now I’m all ready to go — lean(er) and fully equipped with my Cytomax sport drink, my jelly belly energy beans, my nike running app and a killer running mix.

I still need to get a new pair of socks.  And I was thinking of treating myself to a new piece of Lululemon attire:

Lululemon running tank

But generally speaking, I’m ready to go.  The socks and the Lululemon top are just icing. 

Wish me luck! (And don’t tell me to break a leg)   Like me on Facebook during the race on Sunday and I’ll get your cheers through my earphones.

5 comments
  1. lauragaby said:

    Oh gosh – I am so nervous! I wont tell you to break anything – but I will tell you to follow your own advice and pump (up) before you run!!! HEHEHEHE. I am so proud of you Jocie Girl – I will be rooting for you the whole way (not the way GiGi does…)! Go out there, do you finest, and bring home the hardware!

  2. withlovedeidrelee said:

    That is sooo exciting!!! I just found your blog and I’m so glad I did!! Good luck and I can’t wait to hear how it goes!!! Sounds like you are prepared 🙂

    • Thanks so much!! I’m excited. Your blog is AWESOME! I don’t even know what paleo is, but I’m gonna find out.

  3. jgabryn said:

    I’m nervous, too! How can a body run that far, for that long? I do like how Caroline asked if I was going for a run when I put on a ball cap. She must think it’s what most grown ups do. I wish you fair and favorable conditions for this great endurance test!

Leave a Reply

