Tie one on

I’m getting ready to go back to work next week, and I am trying to do something about the organization systems in the house. I get a little crazy about keeping things organized, but unfortunately, the other people in my life (my husband dearest and our two year old daughter to be specific) don’t feel the same way I do about the mantra “a place for everything and everything in its place.” I feel like I am forever organizing and re-organizing–so my new tactic is to organize once in a way that makes it easier for the other folks to put things back where they belong. I am trying to make it super simple and appealing. Easier said than done.

Here is one solution I am kind of psyched about. My husband’s ties always somehow end up on the floor of his closet instead of the tie hanger. I will acknowledge that the previous tie hanger is not very user friendly, especially in a closet that is packed full to the gills. (another project for another day)

Enter the Elfa tie rack I got from the Container Store.

I wanted to make the ties more easily accessible, so I wanted to hang the tie rack on the inside of the closet door. This tie rack was perfect–just what I was looking for, it was only $10, and it was perfectly simple to install. All I needed to do was drill two holes and use anchors for the screws. (make sure if you do this that you use the smallest possible drill bit–you don’t want the hole to be too big for the anchor or it will be loose)

I feel some major organizational catharsis right now, but we’ll see if my hubbers likes it and if he is willing to use it.

1 comment
  1. lauragaby said:

    Now I know what to get your husband for his birthday … he needs more green in his ensamble~!

Leave a Reply

