Magnetic Blackboard Project

Our burgeoning family needed a spot for messages, shopping lists and invites, etc.  We also thought it would be neat to have a little drawing and ‘abc’ activity area for little Caroline.  Initially I thought I would need to get a sheet of metal, affix it to the wall, then paint it with blackboard paint.  I couldn’t find a sheet of metal big enough–but the folks at Home Depot were very helpful and suggested that magnetic paint might be the solution to my problem.  Magnetic paint??  I didn’t know such a thing existed.  

Image

First I taped off the area I wanted to paint.  Next I painted three coats of magnetic paint.  I recommend maybe one or two more coats so that you can use big heavy magnets–three coats is a little weak. Then I painted a top coat of the blackboard paint.  (note–the fumes from the magnetic paint are pretty strong, so don’t do this around babies or when pregnant)

Image

After letting the paint dry for 24 hours, we got to use the chalkboard.

Image

My father came to visit and told me the blackboard needed to have a trim.  He kindly went to Home Depot to pick up the trim and then installed it for me.  Definitely a nice touch, but I think it looked nice without the trim as well.  Here is a picture of the finished project.  Caroline doesn’t always like “to color inside the lines,” but that doesn’t bother me. =)

Image

1 comment
  1. Kelly said:

    What a cute idea! My daughter would love permission to draw on the walls! I didn’t know magnetic paint existed either…fun!

Leave a Reply

